Surrounded by a beautiful Italian garden, Villa Carlotta was built in 1600.
Two hundred years later, in the mid nineteenth century, the property was purchased by the German princess Marianna di Nassau and donated to her daughter Charlotte of Prussia, to which the Villa due its name, as a gift for the marriage with the Grand Duke of Sachsen-Meiningen.
Well educated and charming Princess Charlotte had a talent for music and so, in addition to the piano, she composed a series of military marches, songs and pieces for piano.
Just 19 years Carlotta met the Duke George of Saxony-Meiningen which fell madly in love: they married right away and during the five years of marriage, Charlotte and George had four children .
However, the beautiful young princess died early at the age of 23 giving birth to the fourth child, who died the day after his birth.
Carlotta was hugely loved by her husband who, in her memory, preserved and adorned the Villa that was su ...
This villa was really ideal for the captain because it is surrounded by a microclimate that easily would give home to many plant and species that the captain, always traveling for Her Majesty, could bring from exotic places he could reach.
Situata proprio in riva al lago Maggiore, e precisamente a Verbania, la villa deve il suo nome a un antenato del nostro capitano, che in epoca napoleonica, era stato nominato duca di Taranto.
Oggi il patrimonio botanico dei Giardini di Villa Taranto è davvero vastissimo.
Putroppo la Villa non è visitabile, perchè è la sede della Prefettura della nuova Provincia del Verbano - Cusio - Ossola.
Il percorso di visita è straordinario e offre al visitatore angoli di superba bellezza: dal viale delle magnolie, ai filari di tulipani, le infinite specie di camelie dagli infiniti colori.
Naturalmente la vista sul lago è mozzafiato...
Del resto ogni periodo è buono per godere delle fioriture ...
This little village takes its name from the latin “Fontana lata”, that is “Big fountain”, as it was built between two rivers, Taro e Stirone.
Here there are many canals, and among them also the surrounding moat of the Fortress Sanvitale.
Built in the twelfth century, the Rocca Sanvitale has been subjected to several restorations over the centuries has been transformed from a fortress into a noble residence of the Sanvitale Counts, who later inhabited for about six hundred years.
In 1948, the last Count gave the Rocca Sanvitale with all its furnishings to the City, which transformed it into a museum.
The charming fortress Sanvitale stands at the centre of the town, surrounded by a moat, full of water.
The visit path of Fortress Sanvitale is through the furnished rooms, hangi ...
This beautiful mansion welcomes visitors to splendid rooms with frescoes, charming furniture and precious chandeliers.
At the entrance you can admire the amazing landscape from the terrace and enjoy the view over Perugia and Assisi Valley.
The entrance room is dedicated to Carlo III di Borbone, further King of Two Sicilies (1735) and King of Spain (1759), because he was guest here during his trip to Perugia.
The next room is dedicated to the marquise Giuseppe I Bourbon di Sorbello. He grew up in the militar school in Turin. In 1729 Giuseppe married the noble Marianna Arrigucci from Perugia, and they had sixteen sons.
Today it is a very well stocked library where you can also consult ancient volumes.
Going on visiting the Palace you can admire the room dedicated to the marquise Diomede Bourbon di Sorbello (1743-1811).
He was a friend of the famous italian writer Vittorio Alfieri, schoolfellow at Royal Academy. After ...
Villa Monastero takes its name from the Cistercian monastery founded at the end of the twelfth century in Varenna and that at the beginning of the seventeenth century was restored by the italian family Mornico (who called it "Villa Leliana").
It was later modified and decorated between 1897 and 1909 by its last owner, the rich German businessman Walter Kees.
Nel 1936 Villa Monastero was donated to the government by the family De Marchi, who had bought it in 1925.
Four years later, the charming garden was opened to the public and in 1953 was created to convention center.
Villa Monastero has a botanic garden of great value and interest, while the interior is a house museum and a conference center.
The House Museum consists of 14 rooms completely furnished. All of them, from the Pool Hall to the Music Hall, from the Mornico Parlour to the Main Room, offer visitors the opportunities to go back to the past through the various styles, the precious materials and th ...
The territory of Armeno reaches up the slopes of Mottarone, the mountain that separates Lake Maggiore from Lake Orta and which offers a unique and extraordinary view.
Armeno Armeno has very ancient origins, perhaps even dating back to the eleventh century, but certainly boiled was inhabited since prehistoric times; in Roman times it was obligatory passage for Switzerland and it was crossed by the road Settimia. In the Middle Ages it was linked to the events of the family Riviera Orta and the count-bishops of Novara.
In Armeno you can't miss a visit to the beautiful parish church of Santa Maria Assunta which dates back to the twelfth century.
The Church is one of the best examples of Romanesque art.
Essential and strict in its simplicity, it demonstrates the importance of the village during the Middle Ages.
The interior is divided into three naves, the splendid frescoes on the walls and on columns can still be admired.
They have been restored to their beauty afte ...
Fano, the ancient Roman garrison, was called "Fanum Fortunae" because of the "Temple of Fortune" erected to witness the battle of Metauro where the Roman legions defeated the Carthaginian army.
The climax of the Roman presence was at its Augustus imperial period when the emperor Octavian Caesar Augustus built the wall around the city by elevating it to the status of colony.
The walls are still preserved today for about two-thirds of the original circuit; they were made of sandstone and an internal filling of mortar and shavings of processing.
Eight cylindrical towers remain today, but once the walls were interspersed at regular spaces by twelve towers.
The walls were opened through the doors and the most important was the Arch of Augustus, situated where the Via Flaminia entered the city.
A smaller door to the city still opens about half of the Roman walls.
It is called "Gate of the Herd" because in the past there were grazing herds.
In 1357 Fano c ...
Located at the center of the valley, 1,385 meters high Gressoney Sain-Jean is a true gem of the italian Alps.
Located in a unique scenery due to its view on the Lyskamm glacier and on the impressive Monte Rosa massif which is reflected in the emerald green waters of the small and picturesque Lago Gover.
Lake Gover is artificially formed and it is surrounded by pine and fir trees, beautifully positioned to admire the chain of Monte Rosa.
Immersed in the greenery of the woodland, in a panoramic locality called “Belvedere”, you will find Castle Savoia.
It was built during Queen Margherita’s reign in 1894 as her residence on her frequent holidays.
Also in Gressoney Saint Jean , as for Gressoney La Trinitè, the Walser architecture is the typical style for the woody houses.
Walser were people coming from Germany in the fourtheenth century.
They decided to live in the L ...
A well known tourist resort on the Adriatic coast, with its nine kilometers of fine white sand and a gently sloping sea, Cervia is one of the most famous and popular of the Adriatic Coast seaside
The Cervia's Salt Pans is a paradise for birdwatching lovers and nature photography.
From paths of few hours to those of half or full day, the Salt Pans is interesting for children, teens and adults.
Cervia has its roots in ancient times: the old town in fact stood in the middle of the salt and occupied an area of 20 hectares.
The old Cervia was demolished because of pressures by the inhabitants, who were decimated by malaria and unhealthy living conditions.
The new Cervia was built in the shape of a rectangle with a perimeter of about 800 meters: the outer part included 48 houses that could accommodate more than 150 families of salt workers, a small hospital, a barracks, a slaughterhouse and the theater.
Just outside the quadrilateral ...
We can start from the naval base at the Hydroelectric Power Station "Ludovico il Moro" in Vigevano .
Everywhere in the world there are more rivers "quiet", which in technical terms are classified as "Class 1".
The majestic and peaceful River Ticino, immersed in the homonymous nature park, established in 1974, belongs to these.
Rafting on Ticino means being able to enjoy the excitement of a river navigation adrenaline active.
The sports association "AqQua" that offers this unique experience called in Italian "Slow Rafting"
Birds of rare beauty that cross the majestic river Ticino, uninhabited islands, where to stop for a refreshing swim or a snack.
In river Ticino there are "amazonian" atmospheres that you can enjoy in the water tunnel completely covered by lush vegetation.
The river Ticino is navigable for 110 km from Lake Maggiore up to its confluence with the Po, after Pavia.
The routes propose ...
Italyis one of the most visited nations in the world. From world class cuisine to arts and culture, the country is a heaven for tourists and visitors as there is so much to see and to do in this fascinating and romantic destination.
Manager of an important italian media company, mother of two sons, I like to discover Italy with my personal touch. Travel to Italy and discover my tourism. Read about fashion, design and lifestyle in Carlottissima!
Conferma di accettazione dei cookies da questo sito: